Aiden Daly is the spelling bee champion

Congratulations to Aiden Daly, the Raymore-Peculiar Spelling Bee Champion!

The District Spelling bee was held virtually on Jan. 11. After 11 rounds of competition, Aiden was declared the winner after successfully spelling the word “subsequent.” He is an 8th grader at Ray-Pec South Middle School. The runner-up was Kadyn Johnson, an 8th grader at Ray-Pec East Middle School.

Aiden will represent the Ray-Pec School District at the Cass County Spelling Bee, scheduled for March 15 at the Raymore-Peculiar Administrative Services Center.

Aiden and Kaden each received a trophy and a Visa Gift Card from UMB Bank. School spelling bee winners received medallions.

Thanks to Joyce Webb, retired school librarian, who served as Pronouncer. Judges for the Bee were Dr. Al Voelker, Assistant Superintendent of Academic Services; Cynthia Byous, Chief Financial Officer; and Dr. Lisa Hatfield, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources.

The other school winners who participated in the District Spelling Bee included:
Bridle Ridge Elementary School: Xander Hotalling (4th grade), Claire Summerford (5th grade), and Marley Zimmerman (5th grade).
Creekmoor Elementary School: Blake Samson (5th grade), James Schuman (5th grade), and Asmaul-Husna Suleiman (5th grade).
Eagle Glen Elementary School: Cameron Eidet (5th grade), Adam Peterson (4th grade), and Vincent Maenza (5th grade).
Peculiar Elementary School: Peyton Delt (5th grade), Kaiden Stewart (5th grade), and Kaylee Snider (5th grade).
Raymore Elementary School: Shelby Chatfield (5th grade), Leah Cook (4th grade), and Karter Kimble (4th grade).
Stonegate Elementary School: Mahayla Harris (5th grade), Alex Mayes (5th grade), and Hailey Supple (5th grade).
Timber Creek Elementary School: Lilah Sager (5th grade), Ethan Wells (5th grade), and Maxwell Young (5th grade).
East Middle School: Auchen Baranowski (6th grade), Kadyn Johnson (8th grade), and Kyan Roth (8th grade).
South Middle School: Nabeel Al Chelabi (8th grade), Aiden Daly (8th grade), and Lylah Stewart (8th grade).

Kadyn Johnson is the runner up.