Ruth Johnson takes oath of office at MSBA meeting

Ruth Johnson, president of the Raymore-Peculiar School Board, is the new president of the Missouri School Boards’ Association. Johnson became MSBA president at the conclusion of the 2023 MSBA Summer Summit held June 16-17 in Branson. She has served as president-elect of MSBA for the past year.

In remarks at the Summer Summit, Johnson told school board members it’s important to share the good news stories happening in public schools. “As we all look ahead to this next year, we will face many of the same challenges that we have in recent times. We must however look forward, be better and focus on our why,” she said.

Patty Quessenberry, a school board member in the Ozark R-VI School District, was elected president-elect by the MSBA Delegate Assembly. Jonathan Russell, a school board member in the Neosho School District, was elected vice president of MSBA.

The Missouri School Boards’ Association is a not-for-profit organization that exists to help school boards ensure all students succeed.