Representatives from public school districts in Cass County met Friday morning, March 10, with Rep. Sherri Gallick, R-62, to learn more about issues being discussed and considered during the 2023 legislative session. The Belton School District hosted the legislative breakfast.

This is the ninth year for the school districts to join forces under the banner “Cass County Kids First” to develop and endorse a list of legislative priorities.

Due to schedule conflicts, other legislators representing Cass County did not attend. The legislators have attended past events sponsored by Cass County Kids First.

Rep. Gallick briefly addressed the group and answered questions.

Representing the Raymore-Peculiar School District at the meeting were: School Board President Ruth Johnson and Superintendent Dr. Mike Slagle.

Cass County Kids First includes the 10 public school districts in Cass County: Archie R-V School District, Belton #124 School District, Drexel R-IV School District, East Lynne 40 School District, Harrisonville School District, Midway R-I School District, Pleasant Hill School District, Raymore-Peculiar School District, Sherwood Cass School District, and Strasburg C-3 School District.